A hit and run or hit skip in Ohio is also referred to as leaving the scene of an accident. If you are involved in an accident, you must stop and provide the other driver or a police officer on the scene with the following information:
While not specifically listed in the failure to stop after an accident section of the Ohio Revised Code, you should also provide your insurance information to the other driver. Even if the accident is not your fault, you still must stop to exchange information.
If the vehicle is unoccupied, you must leave the above listed information visibly attached to the vehicle.
If the other driver involved in the accident is unable to understand and record the information, you must notify police and remain on the scene until police arrive.
Leaving the scene of an accident is generally a misdemeanor of the first degree punishable by up to 180 days in jail, a $1000 fine, court costs, probation, community service, restitution, 6 points on your license, and a class 5 license suspension for up to 3 years. If anyone involved in the accident was seriously injured, leaving the scene is a felony of the fifth degree increasing the possible jail time to 12 months. If the accident causes the death of another, failure to stop is a felony of the third degree increasing the possible jail time to 3 years.
Failure to stop after an accident is a serious matter. Even bumping into a car in the parking lot could result in up to 6 months in jail. If you have been charged with a hit skip, contact an experienced Columbus hit and run defense attorney from The Maher Law Firm at (614) 205-2208 to discuss your case.