What Happens for Your First DUI Offense in Columbus Ohio?
What happens when I am convicted of a first offense DUI/OVI?
Sentencing guidelines used by Ohio courts list the following maximum penalties for a first-time drunk or drugged driving conviction:
- 6 months in jail,
- $1,075 criminal fine (plus court costs and fees),
- 3-year driver’s license suspension that applies to the person’s own license and CDLs,
- 15 days with no driving privileges at all
- Addiction screening and treatment,
- Use of specially designed OVI offender license plates, and
- Use of an ignition interlock device that turns off the engine if a breath-testing device detects any alcohol.
Judges have discretion to lower or waive some of these penalties, but there are mandatory minimums. Many first time OVI offenders receive a 1-year license suspension with limited personal driving privileges after 15 days, a monetary fine, and a court order to complete a driver alcohol safety course in stead of going to jail.