DUI


TOP

Do DUI Car Crash Defenses Exist in Ohio?

While a charge for driving under the influence greatly complicates matters for a person who is accused of causing a car crash, effective defense strategies definitely exist. An experienced Columbus DUI defense lawyer will focus on both questioning the evidence being used to convince a judge that his client was impaired by alcohol or drugs and on the reasons investigators cite for blaming the crash on his client.

  • 2018-08-07
  • 0

How to Reduce Your DUI Fines

In Ohio, a first-time conviction for the offense state laws call operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OVI) will bring a fine of between $375 and $1,075. Fines increase for second and subsequent drunk or drugged driving convictions. The maximum amount is fixed by statute, and the assessed amount is given according to sentencing guidelines issued by the state Supreme Court.

  • 2018-04-10
  • 0

Do You Have to Be Driving a Vehicle to Be Convicted of OVI in Franklin County?

Short answer: Yes. Only the person in control of a vehicle can be charged with operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OVI).

Long answer: To fully protect yourself from a drunk or drugged driving charge in Ohio, you must understand what law enforcement officials consider to be a vehicle and that a vehicle does not need to be moving to put you at risk for an alcohol or drug-related charge.

  • 2018-01-23
  • 0

Major Penalties for a DUI in Ohio

Getting convicted of or pleading guilty to driving under the influence in Ohio brings many different penalties. The four parts of the sentence that drunk or drugged drivers tend to find the most difficult to live with are the lengthy license suspension, the jail term, the fines and fees, and the required use of an ignition interlock device.

  • 2017-12-19
  • 0

Things You Should Know About Reckless Operation in Franklin County

Drivers in central Ohio may not immediately recognize the term “reckless operation.” Getting to know what the alleged traffic violation entails and what the consequences for a conviction can be is important.

  • 2018-05-11
  • 0

Do I Have the Right to Refuse Sobriety Tests in Ohio?

Ohio gives nearly all drivers the right to refuse sobriety tests. Exercising the right to say no when asked to perform field sobriety tests is a good idea with minimal legal consequences. You will be arrested, but you will likely be arrested anyway.  Refusing to provide breath, blood, and urine samples for laboratory testing after being taking into custody under suspicion of drunk or drugged driving, however, can bring serious consequences. Is Field Sobriety Testing Mandatory in Ohio?

  • 2018-03-16
  • 0

When Does a DUI Become a Felony in Ohio

Ohio police, prosecutors, and courts treat most drunk and drugged driving cases as misdemeanors. Other charges related to or filed with allegations of committing the offense that state statutes call operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OVI) are much more likely to be treated as felonies.

  • 2018-01-15
  • 0

What Should You Do if You Get Arrested While Driving After Having a Couple Drinks?

You literally had two glasses of wine with dinner. And now you find yourself in police custody. Don’t panic.

Even though you may eventually find yourself charged with operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OVI), you must keep in mind that you can defend yourself against a conviction with the help of a Columbus, Ohio, drunk driving lawyer. Part of the defense may rest on what police officers did and said while questioning you, conducting sobriety tests, and processing you after an official arrest. So pay attention and take mental notes.

  • 2018-04-29
  • 0

What Are the Stages of an OVI Case in Columbus, Ohio?

While every drunk or drugged driving case in and around Franklin County presents different facts, each goes through six distinct stages. Knowing your rights and what to expect during the early stages of the legal process for a case concerning the legal charge of operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OVI) could help you avoid  harsh penalties.

  • 2018-03-09
  • 0

Can You Go to Jail for Driving Under Suspension?

You definitely risk going to jail if you drive in Ohio with a suspended driver’s license. State laws classify driving under many types of suspension a first degree misdemeanor. This is the highest level of offense below a felony.  It carries a maximum penalty of 180 days in jail and a fine of $1,000.

  • 2017-12-24
  • 0