Driver's license reinstatement lawyer Ohio
09 Sep
Author: Colin Maher
Date: 2014-09-09
Categories: Traffic

Driver’s License Reinstatement Procedures in Ohio

Ohio driver’s license reinstatement lawyers know that there are many different reasons your driver’s license may be suspended. How to get your license reinstated depends on why the court suspended your license in the first place. Below is a list of some of the types of driver’s suspensions and how to have the license reinstated.

Administrative License Suspension Positive Test

An administrative license suspension positive test is imposed when a person arrested for OVI provides a chemical test indicating drug or alcohol use that is above the legal limit.

To get a license reinstated a person must do the following: wait for the suspension time period to lapse, pay a reinstatement fee of $475, and provide proof of insurance.

Administrative License Suspension Refusal of Test

An administrative license suspension is imposed when a person refuses to take a drug and/or alcohol test.

To get a license reinstated a person must do the following: wait for the suspension time period to lapse, pay a reinstatement fee of $475, and provide proof of insurance.

An individual may appeal the suspension after an initial court appearance for the charge, which should be held within five days after the arrest, or within the period ending 30 days after your initial appearance.

OVI Conviction

An OVI suspension is imposed, if an individual is convicted on an OVI.

To get a license reinstated a person must do the following: wait for the suspension time period to lapse, pay a reinstatement fee of $475, and provide proof of insurance.

Fourth-Offense Felony OVI

A felony OVI occurs when an individual when an individual convicted of OVI has at least three prior convictions for OVI within the previous six years, or at least five convictions within the previous 20 years.

To get a license reinstated a person must do the following: wait for the suspension time period to lapse, pay a reinstatement fee of $475, and provide proof of insurance.

Twelve Point Suspension

A 12-Point suspension occurs when and individual accumulates 12 points on their driving record. To have a license reinstated an individual must:

  1. Complete a remedial driving course,
  1. File FRA insurance in the form of an SR-22 or financially responsibility bond for a period of three years,
  1. Pay a $40 reinstatement fee, and

      4.   Retake a complete driver license examination.

Court Suspension

In some cases, the court may order a suspension of driving privileges for a minor traffic violation.

In order to have the license reinstated, an individual must serve the length of the suspension, and pay a $40 reinstatement fee if the suspension is longer than 90 days.

If you are ready to get back in your car, then hiring an experienced Columbus, Ohio driver’s license reinstatement attorney can help you understand the process of getting your license back. Hiring a lawyer up front can also help shorten, or even prevent license suspension. For your free and confidential consultation, contact an experienced Ohio driver’s license reinstatement attorney at The Maher Law Firm.

Request A Quote

Fill out the form below to request information about a quote from us! We would like to help you if we can.

We fight for your justice

Your case is important to us, Colin will review your case and fight for your justice!

Call for
Quick response

Call or request a free quote today to see how we can help you!

Awards and Certifications

Colin R. MaherReviewsout of 12 reviews