What Happens if I’m Charged with a Third DUI?
If you already have two convictions for drunk or drugged driving offenses on your record, a third arrest for driving under the influence in Columbus, Ohio, puts you at risk for a lengthy jail sentence and thousands of dollars in fines and fees. You could also find yourself without a personal driver’s license and commercial driver’s license for a decade.
Your heightened legal difficulties kick in almost immediately. Ohio law limits the right of multiple DUI offenders to refuse an arresting officer’s requests to provide breath, blood, and urine samples for alcohol and drug testing. If a person who has more than one operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OVI) case on his or her record, officers have the authority to use “reasonable force” in restraining the suspect so blood can be drawn. That being said, a warrant must still be secured prior to using reasonable force for a blood draw.
Beyond that, an administrative license suspension takes effect at the moment of a failed chemical test or test refusal. The ALS remains in place even if the OVI charge is later dropped, reduced on a plea deal or beaten in court. A Columbus OVI attorney from The Maher Law Firm may be able to help get this suspension terminated.
You can exercise your right to request advice and representation from a DUI attorney in Columbus, OH at any time from the moment a police officer stops you for suspicion of driving drunk or stoned. Enlisting the help of a legal ally even while you are being tested and booked will protect you from unfair treatment and allow you to appeal the ALS immediately.
Getting a multiple DUI defense lawyer involved early also puts someone to work on collecting evidence that supports a dismissal or acquittal on the OVI charge. One thing your attorney will pay very close attention to is how blood and urine samples are transported, analyzed, and stored for retesting.
A conviction for a third DUI in Ohio carries the following penalties
- Up to a year in jail or a combination of jail time and monitored home arrest that can equal six months
- Criminal fines of as much as $2,750 plus administrative fees and court costs
- Six points on your license
- Mandatory treatment for drug and alcohol addiction at your expense
- A license suspension of at least 2 years and as long as 10 years
- No driving privileges at all for at least 180 days
- Surrender of the car you were driving if it is registered to you
- Mandatory use of an ignition interlock device (i.e., an in-car breath-testing devices) in every vehicle you drive, with all installation and maintenance costs paid by you
- Mandatory use of DUI offender license plates on any vehicle you drive
If you need help avoiding these negative outcomes, call The Maher Law Firm to see if our Columbus DUI attorney can be of service. The initial consultation is free, so call (614) 205-2208 or reach out online using the free consultation or contact us tab.