Ohio Driver’s license reinstatement procedures
In Ohio, if you are convicted of a DUI, you will likely have your driver’s license suspended. When you have your license suspended, you will need to take a few steps to reinstate your driving privileges. If you are a driver under the age of 18 and you are convicted of an OVI/DUI offense, you will need to take additional steps to reclaim your driving privileges. Finding the right driver’s license suspension attorney is important because the lawyer will be able to answer specific questions you may have about your situation.
Suspension v. Revocation
A suspended driver’s license means that you have temporarily lost the use of the license for a specified amount of time. Driving privileges are returned once all reinstatement requirements are met. In contrast, a revocation of your driver’s license means that your driver’s license has been canceled for an extended period of time. Once that time period ends, then you must reapply for a new driver’s license. It is more common for the court to suspend a license, but revocations of driving privileges can be an option.
An administrative license suspension will be imposed for those who test positive for drug or alcohol that is above the legal limit, or those who refuse to participate in the chemical test. The tests include a breath test. a blood draw, or a urine sample which can be used as evidence against you in court. To have your license reinstated, you pay a reinstatement fee of $475 after waiting for the suspension time to lapse. When you pay your reinstatement fee, you must also provide proof of insurance.
Depending on the traffic violation that led to your license suspension, those with a suspended license may request a hearing to address the loss of driving privileges. There is a deadline to request such a hearing so contact a driver’s license reinstatement lawyer in Columbus Ohio today.
Penalties for those under 18
Unlike older drivers, those under 18 will have their license revoked rather than just suspended. This is done to deter reckless driving, as those under 18 are more likely than any other demographic to drive recklessly. If a driver under the age of 18 receives 2 moving violations, he or she will have their driving privileges revoked. In addition to the revocation of a driver’s license for a minimum of 1 year, the driver must comply with the reinstatement process. To comply, the young driver must complete a juvenile driver improvement program, pay a $40 fee, and retake a complete drivers license examination. This is the same test required of you when you first get your license.
If a person under the age of 18 is convicted of an OVUAC, then they will automatically receive a probationary suspension. In order to reinstate driving privileges, one must pay a reinstatement fee, and at the end of a 6-month suspension retake a complete drivers license exam. To sit for the driver’s license exam, you must again purchase the temporary permit packet. Speak with an attorney to learn all the penalties and costs associated with an OVUAC conviction. Working with an advocate in these matters is the key to understanding the process.
In the end, the cost to reinstate your driving privileges varies depending on the age of the driver. Finding an attorney experienced in this area of law will help you outline the types of fines and consequences you face when driving with a suspended or revoked license. Work with an advocate who knows the court system and who will be an efficient guide through the license reinstatement process.
If you or someone you know has lost driving privileges and wants to reinstate their driver’s license, it may be in your best interest to hire a Columbus, Ohio driver’s license reinstatement lawyer. Rather than represent yourself, contact a professional who can help. An Ohio DUI license suspension attorney will help explain the process and lay out the options available to you. For a free consultation with a skilled driver’s license reinstatement lawyer, contact The Maher Law Firm today by calling 614-205-2208.