What Are DUI Blood Alcohol Limits in Ohio?
Legal BAC in Ohio, which stands for blood alcohol concentration in Ohio, refers to the amount of alcohol in your blood. BAC is measured as weight per unit of volume and is converted to a percentage. For example, if one-eighth of a percent of your blood is alcohol, then your BAC level is .08%.
What is the Legal Blood Alcohol Limit in Ohio
What is the legal limit for alcohol in Ohio? In Ohio, it’s illegal to drive with a BAC limit of .08% or above if you’re 21 years of age or older. The most common way to test a driver’s BAC level is with a breath test, which requires the driver to blow into a breathalyzer. The legal BAC limit for blood is also the same because a breath test equates the amount of alcohol in your breath to the amount of alcohol in your blood. However, not all scientists agree that a breath test is an effective way to measure the amount of alcohol in your blood. Another way you can measure your BAC level is urine testing.
What is Minimum Penalties Who Cross BAC Limit in Ohio
Ohio has enhanced minimum penalties for drivers whose BAC level is “high tier”, or in other words, considerably higher than the legal limit. A high tier result is a BAC limit of .17% or higher for breath and blood tests. A high tier result doubles the minimum jail sentence requirement. If you’re under the age of 21, the legal BAC limit is much lower, dropping to .02%. This means that even consuming a tiny bit of alcohol could put you over the legal BAC limit.
How Many Drinks Does It Take to Reach the Legal BAC Limit in Ohio?
It’s difficult to say exactly how much you’d have to drink to reach the legal BAC limit because everyone is unique and processes alcohol differently. Various factors can contribute to your BAC level, including your weight, gender, body fat percentage, speed of consumption, and stomach contents. Generally speaking, men are able to drink more than women before becoming legally drunk. In addition, heavy people can drink more than light people. All drivers are considered impaired by the time their BAC level reaches .08%. Critical driving tasks, such as braking, steering, and changing lanes, may be affected.
Your driving skills typically become impaired right after your first drink. By the time you feel intoxicated, you’re likely beyond the legal BAC limit. With each drink you consume, your BAC level increases. Drinks that are caffeinated or carbonated increase the speed at which your body absorbs alcohol because they irritate the lining of your stomach. Eating can also affect your BAC level. You are more likely to fail a BAC test if you don’t eat anything when you drink.
What Happens If You’re Pulled Over for Suspicion of a DUI
If a police officer pulls you over and suspects you of DUI, you will be asked to perform physical field sobriety tests. If they feel you are impaired, they will ask you to submit to a BAC test. If you refuse the BAC test, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended for 1 to 5 years depending on your history of similar offenses. If you fail the test, you’ll lose your driving privileges for a minimum of 90 days. You also face a minimum of three days in jail and a fine of at least $375 if it’s your first DUI offense. What happens if you don’t pull over for a cop
Get Help from a Sobriety Test Attorney in Ohio
If you’ve been arrested for a DUI/OVI, get in touch with The Maher Law Firm, a seasoned DUI defense lawyer in Columbus, Ohio. DUI/OVI charges have serious consequences that can forever change the course of your life. A sobriety test attorney in Ohio can help you build a strong defense and avoid or reduce fines and penalties. Call 614.205.2208 or contact us online for a free initial consultation with The Maher Law Firm.