Felonious Assault Charges in Ohio
05 Jun
Author: Colin Maher
Date: 2015-06-05
Categories: Traffic

Felonious Assault Charges in Ohio

What to Do if You’ve Been Charged with Felonious Assault in Ohio

The most important first step you can take if you’re charged with Ohio Felonious assault is to find an experienced, trusted criminal defense attorney. Felonious Assault charges in Ohio can be extremely complex and are taken very seriously by Ohio courts. Ohio law defines Felonious assault as: knowingly causing or attempting to cause physical harm to another or to another’s unborn; or recklessly causing serious physical harm to another or to another’s unborn. This is known as “simple assault,” and it is the least serious assault charge.

Ohio law does not require that you even try to hurt someone to be charged with assault. Furthermore, you do not have to intend harm or even cause harm in order to face criminal charges of assault. 

Simple assault is a first-degree misdemeanor, with a penalty of up to a 180-day jail sentence and a fine of up to $1,000. If the alleged assault victim is a firefighter, police officer, or emergency medical worker, then the charge becomes a fourth-degree felony, which incurs a 6, 12, or 18 month prison term.  Negligent assault, a third-degree misdemeanor, is a less serious crime. It is punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $500.

Aggravated Assault Charges Ohio

Aggravated assault charges in Ohio are much more serious and charged as a fourth-degree felony that can carry a six-year prison sentence with fines of up to $5,000. Aggravated assault is when a person knowingly commits felonious assault under the influence of sudden passion or in a sudden rage incited by the victim through “serious provocation.”

Felonious Assault Ohio Penalties

The most severe assault charge is felonious assault in Ohio.  Felonious assault Ohio may be charged as either a first- or second-degree felony, depending on the circumstances. This crime may be punished by up to eight years in prison and fines of up to $20,000. Felonious assault Ohio means either knowingly causing serious physical harm to another, or using a deadly weapon to knowingly causing physical harm to another.  

Felonious Assault defenses depend on the specific facts of your particular case.  Common defenses include self-defense, misidentification, accident, or victim consent (especially in the case of negligent assault).  There are a number of “moving parts” to be considered in defending yourself against assault charges. Having an attorney on your side with the experience and skill to defend against these serious charges is very important for your future. A felony conviction is very serious business that may result in you losing your right to vote and a permanent criminal record.

How to Beat a Felonious Assault Charge in Ohio

If you are being charged with Felonious assault in Ohio, you need the representation of a skilled and trusted attorney to help you through this. Felonious assault is a very serious charge and you need the assistance of a trusted law firm. To help make sure your rights are protected and you have the best opportunity for a positive outcome, call The Maher Law Firm today for a free consultation at 614-205-2208 or contact us online.

Request A Quote

Fill out the form below to request information about a quote from us! We would like to help you if we can.

We fight for your justice

Your case is important to us, Colin will review your case and fight for your justice!

Call for
Quick response

Call or request a free quote today to see how we can help you!

Awards and Certifications

Colin R. MaherReviewsout of 12 reviews