The Ohio Constitution protects the right to bear arms, but there are circumstances that remove that right from certain people and in certain places. If you want to conceal your weapon, you must have a concealed carry permit to conceal the weapon on your person or in a vehicle.
You may NOT carry a weapon in Ohio if you are:
Under these circumstances or in these locations, carrying a gun is illegal (even with a conceal carry permit):
To obtain a permit to carry a concealed handgun, you must apply with the local sheriff. In order to obtain a permit, you must be a resident of Ohio for 45 days prior to the application. Other requirements include:
The cost of the permit is $55, with an additional $24 fee if an FBI record check is required.
Carrying a concealed handgun in Ohio without a concealed carry license is a misdemeanor. Penalties can include a fine of up to $1,000, up to six months in jail, or both. If you’re caught carrying a firearm in one of the prohibited locations listed above, additional penalties apply.
If you are facing criminal charges for carrying a weapon in Columbus, Ohio, you need an attorney who knows the law and can help you navigate these serious charges. Get the representation of a skilled and trusted attorney who can give you the help you need. The Maher Law Firm can help make sure that your rights are protected. Founding attorney, Colin Maher, has in-depth knowledge and experience working with criminal defense cases and he will put his skills at your service. Call The Maher Law Firm today for a free consultation at 614-205-2208 or contact us online.