DUI


TOP

What Is Gross Vehicular Manslaughter While Intoxicated?

Perhaps the best way to explain the alleged offense Ohio calls aggravated vehicular homicide is to define the three words in reverse order:

  • Homicide—taking another person’s life
  • Vehicle—any car, truck, motorcycle, boat with an engine, or aircraft
  • Aggravated—committing a crime like operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OVI), acting recklessly by exceeding a posted speed limit by more than 25 mph, or being negligent by, for example, falling asleep behind the wheel

  • 2017-02-22
  • 0

Hit and Run in Ohio: What You Need to Know

Ohio treats leaving the scene of a traffic accident as a serious offense. Even the victim in a traffic accident can be charged with the offense that state statutes call stopping after an accident if he or she takes off after a crash without first speaking with police. As a Columbus Ohio traffic defense attorney, here is what Colin Maher of The Maher Law Firm tells drivers they must know.

  • 2016-12-21
  • 0

5 of the Most Common Traffic Violations

Leaving aside drunk and drugged driving, the five things most likely to draw the attention of a local traffic cop or a Highway Patrol officer are speeding, following too closely, making improper lane changes, operating with faulty equipment, and running red lights. We’ll take brief looks at what getting ticketed for any of these can mean for an Ohio driver below.

  • 2016-10-25
  • 0

What Are the Hit and Run Laws?

Ohio law makes leaving the scene of an accident a criminal/traffic offense. Even a person hit by another driver must stop. Failing to do so can bring a jail sentence, criminal fines, a lengthy driver’s license suspension, points, and a court order to pay restitution. If you find yourself accused of committing the violation that state statutes call “failure to stop after an accident,” you should contact an experienced Columbus, Ohio, hit and run defense lawyer to explore ways to avoid those harsh punishments.

  • 2016-09-27
  • 0

How to Get Traffic Tickets Dismissed in Ohio

There is no surefire way to get a traffic ticket dismissed in Ohio. However, working closely with a Columbus traffic ticket lawyer to take the following steps can increase your chances for keeping a traffic conviction off your driving record as well as not having to pay fines and fees.

Contest the Ticket and Request a Court Date

  • 2017-02-06
  • 0

Out of State Drivers and DUI

Visitors to Ohio are subject to the laws of Ohio. When it comes to driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, this means that anyone found operating a motor vehicle with one of the following blood alcohol concentrations will be arrested and charged immediately:

  • .08 BAC for anyone older than 21 and driving a personal vehicle
  • .04 BAC for anyone driving a commercial vehicle
  • .02 BAC for anyone younger than 21

Ohio police and Highway Patrol officers also specifically test suspected intoxicated drivers for the following drugs:

  • 2016-11-24
  • 0

Repeat Reckless Driving Charges

Racking up more than one reckless driving charge within a 12-month period puts an Ohio driver at risk for a month or more in jail. Losing a license to a 12-point violation is also a possibility, and paying hundreds of dollars in fines is a given.

A Brief Overview of Reckless Operation

A first conviction for the offense that Ohio state laws refer to as reckless operation is treated as a minor misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of $150. Even though it is called a “minor” misdemeanor, it is more serious than the typical traffic offense as indicated by the four-point license penalty.

  • 2016-10-23
  • 0

How Long Will I Spend in Jail as a DUI Offender?

One of the primary reasons to hire a Columbus drunk driving attorney is to get help with staying out of a county jail cell.

The following table summarizes the types of jail sentences Ohio courts can impose for operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OVI). Note that avoiding incarceration altogether is pretty much impossible for what judges call a “high test” conviction, even when the defendant has no previous history of driving under the influence.

  • 2017-01-24
  • 0

How to Avoid a CDL Suspension in Ohio

Commercial drivers in Ohio can have their CDLs suspended for dozens of reasons. A long list of criminal offenses, traffic violations, and regulatory lapses that carry commercial driver’s license suspension penalties appears elsewhere on this Maher Law Firm website. When checking out that rundown, note that a first-time suspension raises a commercial driver’s risk for subsequent CDL suspensions.

  • 2016-11-03
  • 0

How Far Over the Speed Limit Is Considered ‘Speeding’?

Anything over the speed limit is speeding.

This is neither a philosophical maxim, nor a statement of physical principles. It’s the law.

Ohio state statutes designate speeding as a prima facie offense. In plain English, this means that a police officer who clocks you going even one mile over a posted speed limit can pull you over and write you a ticket.

  • 2016-09-29
  • 0