Home Firm Overview Attorney Profile FAQS Case Results Contact Us
If you would like to speak to someone regarding your case, contact us for a case evaluation. Work with an attorney that knows what you are going through and how to help. Learn more about choosing an attorney that is right  for you.

Areas of Practice

Criminal Defense
DUI Defense
Ohio DUI Penalties
DUI Process
Breath, Urine, and Blood Tests
Field Sobriety Tests
Multiple DUI
DUI License Suspension
DUI Checkpoints
Underage DUI
Lines of DUI Defense
Fees
Traffic Tickets
Drug Crimes
Theft Crimes
Expungements
Underage Alcohol
Disorderly Conduct
Obstructing Official Business
Weapons Crimes
Violent Crimes
Ohio Mayor's Courts

Recent Posts

Contact Us
Name:
Email:
Phone:
Tell Me About Your Case:

Columbus Ohio DUI / OVI Penalties


Being charged with an OVI in Ohio can carry stiff penalties even prior to your first court appearance. If your case results in a conviction, the penalties get worse and will continue to have an impact on you for years to come. The following is a general guideline for the penalties you may face.

Jail

Ohio's OVI law requires mandatory minimum jail terms for OVI convictions. Having a high amount of alcohol in your system or refusing to take a chemical test with a prior conviction within 20 years will increase these minimums. Alternative sentencing including driver intervention programs, house arrest, and continuous alcohol monitoring may be available. The minimum jail terms are as follows:

1st Offense Within 6 Years: 3 days jail

2nd Offense Within in 6 Years: 10 days jail

3rd Offense Within 6 Years: 30 days jail

4th Offense Within 6 Years: 60 days jail

BMV License Suspension

If the amount of alcohol and/or drugs in your system is determined to be above the legal limit or you refuse to take a test to determine the amount of alcohol and/or drugs in your system, the officer will suspend your driver's license by sending notice to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles.

If you refuse to take a test to determine the amount of alcohol and/or drugs in your system, the length of your suspension will be determined by the number of convictions you have in the last 6 years and the number of test refusals you have regardless of convictions. They are added together to determine your suspension period listed below.

1st: 1 year suspension with no privileges for 30 days

2nd: 2 year suspension with no privileges for 90 days

3rd: 3 year suspension with no privileges for 1 year

4th: 5 year suspension with no privileges for 3 years (no privileges at all if 3 or more test refusals in 6 years)

If you submit to a test to determine the amount of alcohol and/or drugs in your system and the amount is over the legal limit, the length of your suspension is determined solely by the number of convictions you have in the last 6 years. The periods of suspension are as follows:

1st: 90 day suspension with no privileges for 15 days

2nd: 1 year suspension with no privileges for 45 days

3rd: 2 year suspension with no privileges for 180 days

4th: 3 year suspension with no privileges

Court imposed license suspension upon conviction

A conviction for an OVI terminates the BMV suspension and the court will impose a new suspension. The period of time spent under the BMV suspension should be credited toward your new court ordered suspension. The court suspension is determined by the amount of prior convictions you have in the last 6 years. The periods of suspension are as follows:

1st: 6 months to 3 years with no privileges for 15 days

2nd: 1 year to 5 years with no privileges for 45 days

3rd: 2 years to 10 years with no privileges for 180 days

4th: 3 years to life with no privileges for 3 years

Fines

Ohio's OVI law requires mandatory minimum fines determined by the number of convictions you have in the last 6 years. The mandatory minimums are as follows:

1st: $375

2nd: $525

3rd: $850

4th: $1350

Restricted Plates

Restricted plates are the special colored plates issued by the BMV to certain OVI offenders. If you are convicted for your second offense or more within 6 years or you are convicted for having a high alcohol level in your system at the time of the offense, the car you drive will be required to have restricted plates. There is a fee associated with getting these plates.

Interlock Device

An interlock device is like a breathalyzer machine installed in your car. It prohibits a car from starting unless alcohol free breath is simultaneously blown into the tube while starting the car. If you are convicted of your second offense or more within 6 years and it is alcohol related, the car you drive will be required to have an interlock device. There are fees associated with installation and rental of an interlock device.

Immobilization

Immobilization is accomplished through impounding the vehicle, putting a boot on the vehicle, or locking a bar across the steering wheel. Immobilization for 90 days is required on a second offense within 6 years if the vehicle is registered to the offender. Various fees will apply depending on the method of immobilization used.

Forfeiture

Forfeiture is when the State takes your vehicle. A vehicle is subject to forfeiture on a third offense or more within 6 years if the vehicle is registered to the offender.

Points

A conviction will result in 6 points on your license.

Treatment

Treatment is mandatory if you are convicted of a second offense within 6 years. There is a fee associated with treatment.

Alcohol/Drug Addiction Program

An alcohol/drug addiction program is mandatory if you are convicted of a third offense or more within 6 years. There is a fee associated with addiction programs.

Court Costs

Court costs will accumulate as your case proceeds.

Probation Fees

If you are placed on probation you may be required to pay a fee.

Impound Fees

If your car was impounded, towing and storage fees will apply.

Reinstatement Fee

In order to obtain a valid license after your suspension terminates, you must pay a license reinstatement fee of $475.

Insurance Rates

Your car insurance rates are likely to jump after an OVI conviction.

Out-of-State License

If you have an out-of-state license and Ohio sends notice to your home state, you may face additional license penalties there.


If you or someone you know has been charge with a DUI / OVI in Ohio, call The Maher Law Firm for help.

THE MAHER LAW FIRM | Columbus DUI Attorney | 614-205- 2208

f l g t